My three big moments to remember

I have been mulling over this for the last few weeks… the things that you remember when your life changed.  You know, those moments that happen in life and you feel like you are in walking around in slow motion while the world is carrying on without you? Those moments when you know life as you know it has come to an end and it is time to take a new step.

So, the three things are:

The day my Mom was diagnosed with breast cancer. You can read her story here. Looking back now, I realise that at 21, I had to grow up pretty damn quickly. To this day I am thankful that she is still here and my best friend.

Next on the list is the day my dad passed away. I have never really blogged about it, the only post I can find is here. Some might say I haven’t really grieved for my Dad, maybe they are right? I had to look after my Mom, so maybe grieving was not high on my list of priorities. But, I think I have made peace with the fact that he is no longer here. He is not suffering and ill anymore. I have memories that I will never trade for anything. I miss him everyday and he will always be with me in my heart.

So, those are the sad/unhappy days… now for the good….

This is going to sound very cliche, but my happy day was when a dream came true…

The day I got to meet Gerard Butler and be in the same room as him and Aaron Eckhart. It is almost a year ago when the whole thing happened. You can read about it here.  So many memories were made that day and something that I will keep in my heart forever. 🙂

So there you have it… My three big moments.

14 thoughts on “My three big moments to remember

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember | My Atheist Blog

  2. Pingback: Mutts in Love | Views Splash!

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Moments | The Wandering Poet

  4. Pingback: In which I have no original ideas | Infinitefreetime.com

  5. Pingback: Moments to Remember | Alexia Jones

  6. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

  7. Wow these were big moments.My Mom also had cancer but when I was much older and hers was bladder CA.My Dad passed away the year I turned 40 and I regret him never meeting LO he died the night before we flew up to Durban.

    • I am sorry to hear of your Dad too Deb, although I am sure you tell LO about him.
      My Mom’s dad also passed away before I was born, but she shares things with me… memories and stories, so everything I know about him she and my grandma told me. I am sorry that my Dad will never get to see my kids one day, but I will do what my mom did and my kids will “know” my dad. 🙂

      Yay for strong women who survive cancer. 🙂

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Moments to Remember | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  9. Pingback: Moments in My Life | Love.Books.Coffee.

  10. Pingback: Tuesday Tune: The one I love | Kat and her Blog

  11. Pingback: Today… | Kat and her Blog

Leave a comment