Tuesday Tune: The one I love

Today is a very special day for me. It is my Dad’s birthday. He would have been 72 today. I miss him, especially when big things happen in my life. I know I said the other day that I have made peace with it… but it is still difficult remembering sometimes. They say time heals all wounds, but, I think time just dulls the pain we feel.

Rose Kennedy, put said it beautifully: β€œIt has been said, ‘time heals all wounds.’ I do not agree. The wounds remain. In time, the mind, protecting its sanity, covers them with scar tissue and the pain lessens. But it is never gone.”

Anyways, Happy Birthday Dad, you are in my thoughts, today and always. We miss you, but we will see you again. I am sure of it. πŸ™‚

Today’s Tuesday Tune is a bit of a sad one. I blogged about it before, but cannot seem to find it here on this blog, I think it may have gone missing in the big move from the one platform to the other.

In the post I mentioned how Rugby Man (we share a love for music) told me to listen to the words of the song. After I did, he explained the meaning behind the song. I ended up crying that night, cause it is a beautiful meaning.

In short, it is about a soldier who is thinking about his true love as he is lay dying on the battlefield. He remembers things they did and how he is “leaking life faster than he is leaking blood”. I found a site that explains the lyrics better than I do… You can find itΒ here.

Since Rugby Man told me about the song, I have to grab the tissues every time I hear it. My hope and prayer is that I find a love like this one day.

The One I Love
David Gray

Gonna close my eyes
Girl and watch you go
Running through this life darling
Like a field of snow
As the tracer glides
In its graceful arc
Send a little prayer out to ya
‘cross the falling dark

Tell the repo man
And the stars above
You’re the one I love

Perfect summers night
Not a wind that breathes
Just the bullets whispering gentle
‘mongst the new green leaves
There’s things I might have said
Only wish I could
Now I’m leaking life faster
Then I’m leaking blood

Tell the repo man
And the stars above
You’re the one I love
You’re the one I love
The one I love

Don’t see Elysium
Don’t see no fiery hell
Just the lights up bright baby
In the bay hotel
Next wave coming in
Like an ocean roar
Won’t you take my hand darling
On that old dancefloor

We can twist and shout
Do the turtle dove
And you’re the one I love
You’re the one I love
The one I love

Quote

11 thoughts on “Tuesday Tune: The one I love

  1. Beautiful quote by Rose Kennedy … whilst you may not feel the pain on a daily basis; the scars that remain remind you of your loss; especially on a day like today.

    Thinking of you with lots of love and big hugs.

    XXX

  2. Pingback: Today… | Kat and her Blog

Leave a Reply

