So much has happened.

So, yes, it has been a while since I posted. Although all things out of my control and let me just tell you that the 42 days have been the most difficult days that I have experienced in a long time. The last time I felt this was was just before and after my Dad passed away almost nine years ago.

It was on 19 September, Noodles 3rd birthday. We were supposed to go through to Oakdene to go see the girlies for Noodle’s birthday. However, when I woke up at 07:00, I saw I had a number of missed calls on my phone from my nephews. Turns out Rugby Man, was supposed to go to his gf the night and never rocked up. Well, maybe he went home I said. How wrong I was….

I am going to relay the story from when it happened at 12:30 that evening.

Rugby Man was on his way home from the pub. He stayed open for the opening game of the Rugby World Cup. He spoke to the Model at 12:30 and said he was going to his gf. Rugby Man rides with his motorcycle and he has been riding bike since the age of 16, so, he knows what he is doing. However, at 01:00 the ambulance picked him up on the side of the road. He had an accident. The ambulance took him to Steve Biko Hospital (the state hospital), however, when they got there and realised that he had dog tags on and was in the airforce they moved him to 1 military hospital (the famous one, where Nelson Mandela was in). HOWEVER, they don’t have a tram unit, so they moved him to Unitas, a private hospital. He arrived there at 05:00 the morning.

When his gf woke up at 06:00 and realised that he wasn’t there, she decided to phone my nephews. This is what gets me though. How do you know someone is coming to you and you go sleep? Don’t you wait up for that person? Anyways, that’s when my nephews started panicking and decided to phone their Mother (Rugby Man’s ex wife), who was bright enough to phone 1 military hospital. She is still on Rugby Man’s medical aid. Anyways, they (the hospital) had tried to get hold of her the whole night, but she recently changed her number and she hadn’t changed it with the medical aid yet. They told her to go to Unitas because Rugby Man had an accident and was there.

By 07:30 we were at the hospital. The air force chaplain was there (never a good sign) and so was one of Rugby Man’s commanding officers. And then the waiting started…

2 thoughts on “So much has happened.

  1. Pingback: So much has happened (part 3) | Kat and her Blog

Leave a Reply

