So much has happened (part 2)

So by then details were sketchy… no one knew what was happening and let me tell you the fear of not knowing is what kills you. It makes it difficult to breathe and a lot of emotions come to the fore front.

We were all in the waiting room. My Mom, my nephews (who were both crying), the ex wife, the current gf (It is the one who he met last year and then they broke up and she took to Facebook to tell everyone why they broke up. They recently got back together and well, I am not her biggest fan.) and I. Biker man and his family whereon their way. The nurse came out and said that his injuries were bad. He didn’t have blood pressure and he is very swollen up. They were treating him to keep him alive. She then wanted to know who we were. We told her and she said to my Mom, that she could go in first. Well duh, because she is his mother, but the gf didn’t like that one bit because she is his ‘life partner’. No offence, but you have to be living with a person for at lease six months to be a life partner.

My Mom went in and when she came out, we knew it was bad. After that the Doctor came and spoke to us. Rugby Man had no broken bones in his body, except for a finger and a fracture in his cheek and jaw. However, Rugby Man had a serious brain injury and they were going to drill a hole in his head to relieve the pressure of the brain. Also, he was put in an induced coma and was on a lot of meds due to the fact that he was in a lot of pain.

My brother went in to see him and then when I had to go in, the gf ran in before me. It was almost 11:00 and visiting hours and well, I just thought let her go. I wasn’t going to start an argument. However, when she got out, she made such a scene. She threw herself on the floor and started sobbing. It was then that my Mom (who had not yet shed a tear) went to her and told her to behave. Making a scene was not helping the family and other traumatised families waiting to see their loved ones and it certainly was not helping my brother who was fighting for his life. Well, let’s just say my Mom says it like it is, but the gf stopped crying.

Anyways, so, in the meantime, Biker Man found out where the bike was and kinda how it happened. It seemed like a hit and run…

My first thoughts were, what sick bastard, hits a person and rides/drives away? Seriously?

It was finally my turn to go see Rugby Man. I was only allowed two minutes, but you know what? I took them. When I walked in, he had one of those orange braces around his head like you see on Greys Anatomy. He had on a neck brace. He had drips in everywhere and a heart machine beeping. He was on the ventilator and had pipes coming out of his mouth. His face was swollen to double the size. He didn’t look like my Rugby Man. His head was shaved on the one side and he had a screw coming out of his head. It was really traumatic, not just for me, but everyone around me.

I said the only thing that I could think of in that situation and that was: “Rugby Man… stay away from the light. We cannot lose you, not like this.”

Looking back now, I realise how selfish I was.

5 thoughts on “So much has happened (part 2)

  1. Flip what a hectic thing to go through with a lived one.So sorry to hear of his accident. Waiting for the rest of the story that J can only pray has a good ending

  2. Oh my goodness, how traumatic for all of you, so terribly sorry to hear about this, I see through your writing how much you love your “Rugby Man” and I also pray this has a good ending…

  3. Pingback: So much has happened (part 3) | Kat and her Blog

Leave a Reply

