Why two month’s salary?

With the words ‘marriage’ and ‘wedding’ being thrown around lately, I was quite amused when one of my friends posted the following image on Facebook:

Facebook Image

Actually, this is one of the many questions that I have wondering about, namely, why spend so much on an engagement ring if you want to settle down? Why must it be two to three month’s salary? Why do two people – who want to spend their lives with one another – have to go all out to do it and (possibly) get themselves into debt?

Okay, so before I go further, maybe I am being a tad negative, but honestly, why does society have to dictate what is ‘right’?

Who said that the size of the rock he buys me, shows me how much he loves me? Should you not know that when he actually gets down on one knee and asks you to spend the REST OF YOUR LIFE with him? Is that not proof enough that he is in it for the long haul?

I have come to the conclusion that my views are very different from a lot of other people out there. I always seem to be overruled when this comes up in conversation, especially at the office. I mean, let’s just use this whole rock thing as an example, I feel that if a man wants to marry me he has to do two things –

  1. ask my mother for permission (a little old fashioned, yes, but it is the right way to do it); and
  2. all he needs to do is give me a ring like this:

Claddagh-Ring

It is called a Claddagh ring and is a traditional Irish ring which represents –

  • Love (heart);
  • Friendship (hands); and
  • Loyalty (crown).

The three (of many) things that marriage should be about, don’t you think?

Anyways, according to this site, the way in which a Claddagh ring is worn is to convey the wearer’s relationship status:

  • On the right hand with the point of the heart toward the fingertips, the wearer is single and may be looking for love.
  • On the right hand with the point of the heart toward the wrist, the wearer is in a relationship.
  • On the left hand with the point of the heart toward the fingertips, the wearer is engaged.
  • On the left hand with the point of the heart toward the wrist, the wearer is married.

So, that is simple and easy enough… no need for diamonds, cause they are not my best friend. If someone had to make me choose a gemstone, I would choose and emerald. Although like I said (a few times before: See point 4) if you want to marry me… give me plain and simple.

Okay, so I have just rambled on today… still wanted to share some other news, but that will have to wait for another post.

Have a happy and wet (it is raining here) Thursday everyone!

Print

10 thoughts on “Why two month’s salary?

  1. I agree with you Kat – between the exorbitant engagement ring and ridiculous wedding, the couple are up to their eyeballs in debt before they’ve even started their life together.

    I WISH my ex-husband/fiance’s had spent two months salaries on my engagement rings – I’d be able to pay off my bond!

    • Hmmmm… can you just imagine paying off your bond with an engagement ring? Obviously some women know something we don’t and that’s why they insist on diamonds after all? 😉

      • Don’t tell anyone, but I’d just as happily accept cubic zirconia’s and truth be told – I can’t even tell the difference!

  2. Also wonder why it’s so important to spend loads on the ring,rather buy what you can afford.
    My diamond from my engagement sadly got lost when it fell out of the setting……still annoyed it’s gone more for the sentimental reasons than anything else.

    • Oh dear Deb, that is always a sad thing, because it is sentimental to you.

      My mom actually had her wedding ring and engagement ring melted down and the little diamonds she had, which were around the bigger stone, she was going to make earrings for me for my 21st, which never happened. Although she changed her story and said when I get married. Between you and me… I don’t think she knows where they are actually. 😛

  3. A nifty ring with some amazing but simple messages – but I still say there should be a whacking great diamond in the centre.
    Three months? Mine was more like a couple of years!
    *small print* OK, so it was a family heirloom.

    • A family heirloom is a different story Col… then it is an honour that he chose you to wear it. 🙂

      And the Claddagh is cool in that way, there is place for a rock, but I wouldn’t want to spoil it.

      • Actually, I chose her to wear it – it was my mother’s and I was the groom! 🙂
        Depends on the rock, I suppose. A 1,5ct flawless diamond would be tempting …

Leave a Reply

