Tuesday Tune: Wavin’ Flag

Four years ago, when the Soccer World Cup was held in South Africa, the first team I decided to support was Italy. Well, who wouldn’t? Have you seen those Italian Soccer Players? *drool*

But then that shock came when they were booted out of the World Cup in the first round and well, I had to find another team to support. My next team was Germany. They were a young team, but with the likes of Klose, Müller, Schweinsteiger, Podolski and Özil, I supported them and even have a t-shirt or two to prove it.

This year with the World Cup, I said that I would route for Germany, because those boys who I supported back then, had grown up and well, they would have come together as a team. I must admit, I never thought that they would beat Argentina, but they did… Thinking back now, if I was a betting woman, I could have made some money. 😉

Anyways, now that the Soccer World Cup is over for another four years, I thought that I would share this song as my Tuesday Tune. Somehow it always puts me in a good mood.

Happy Tuesday everyone.

 Print

 

 

 

 

Wavin’ Flag
K’Naan feat. David Bisbal

Give me freedom, give me fire, give me reason, take me higher
See the champions, take the field now, you define us, make us feel proud

In the streets our heads are lifting, as we lose our inhibition,
Celebration, it’s around us, every nations, all around us

Singing forever young, singing songs underneath that sun
Let’s rejoice in the beautiful game, and together at the end of the day.
We all say,

[Chorus:]
When I get older
I will be stronger
They’ll call me ‘Freedom’
Just like a wavin’ flag
And then it goes back, and then it goes back
And then it goes back, and then it goes…

Born to a throne, stronger than Rome
But violent-prone, poor people zone,

But it’s my home, all I have known,
Where I got grown, streets we would roam

Out of the darkness, I came the farthest
Among the hardest survival
Learn from these streets, it can be bleak,
Accept no defeat, surrender retreat

[Bridge:]
So we strugglin’
Fightin’ to eat
And we wonderin’
When we’ll be free
So we patiently wait
For that fateful day
It’s not far away,
But for now we say:

[Chorus]

So many wars, settlin’ scores,
Bringing us promises, leaving us poor,

I heard them say, love is the way
Love is the answer, that’s what they say

But look how they treat us, make us believers
We fight their battles, then they deceive us

Try to control us, they couldn’t hold us
‘Cause we just move forward like Buffalo soldiers

[Bridge]
[Chorus]

* I do not own these images. They were found on this website.

4 thoughts on “Tuesday Tune: Wavin’ Flag

Leave a Reply

