Things that I have noticed…

So, remember last year sometime I wrote a post about starter marriages? Well, I said in the post: “Can you live with the person for the rest of your life?”

This weekend, at church, one of the uncles turned 82. While congratulating him on the milestone, cause lets face it, celebrating a birthday over 80 is an achievement, the minister mentioned that he and his wife would be celebrating the 60th wedding anniversary next year.

I’ll let that sink in… 60 years.

Can you imagine? That’s a whole lifetime and it is something very special and I hope their children have a massive party for them for achieving a milestone like that, because, let’s face it, that does not happen everyday.

My friend who sits next to me in the choir, then said that her mom and dad were celebrating 40 next year too. It made me a little sad, because my Mom will never be able to celebrate that with my Dad… Although she does remember her anniversary every year.

Anyways, after hearing about two milestones like that, I log into Facebook and I read a post from one of my older friends (around my eldest brother’s age) who thanked everyone for their support during the difficult time. So, I stalked her profile… it turns out she and her hubby are divorcing. That is when I noticed it…

I noticed just how many of my ‘older friends’ (people who got married when I was about 6 or 10-years-old, people around my brother’s ages, people who saw me grow up) are getting divorced. These are the people who I thought were genuinely happy and would be married forever cause they seemed perfect for one another. These friends all have kids around the ages of 17 to 23 and It would seem that empty nest syndrome has a lot to do with it… because once the kids are out of the house, it is only the two of them…

Personally, I don’t know what the reasons are, and I think it is VERY personal to ask a person why they are divorced, but, I think it must be the toughest thing to be with someone for that long and then having to start all over again.

Now, I know I cannot really give say much on the topic, because I have never been married, and let’s face it, I haven’t even been in a relationship that brought me close to the altar… but it makes me wonder what is up with the world today? Is it because people don’t fight for what they want? Is it because it is just too easy to give up and throw in the towel? Is it because life happens and you, as a person change? Is it because the person you thought you married just is not there for you? Is it because you just fall out of love with the person? Is it because your partner has hurt you terribly, whether verbal, physical or mentally? Is it because there is just too much happening around us? Is it because partners don’t talk to one another anymore?

Like I said, I am no expert, but it does make me wonder. How can some people be together forever and others don’t make it past the two, five, ten or 20 year mark? Although in all this, every person and their situation is unique and I guess that’s what the world and life is about…

I leave you with this quote that sums it up perfectly:

Forrest-Gump1

*Please note that this blog is not about judging people, it is just something that I have noticed and decided to comment on.

7 thoughts on “Things that I have noticed…

  1. I think it’s because getting a divorce is so easy nowadays. Some people don’t even bother trying to patch things up. Others do try but sometimes it’s just not meant to be.

  2. Pingback: You are doing what??? | Kat and her Blog

Leave a Reply

