Things on my side…

Things on my side have been hectic, but what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger right?

Where will I start?

At home we have had a few issues in the complex…. it seems that our complex has become a target for thieves.  Everyone is on high alert. They started a group on WhatsApp where people can report suspicious happenings,  but everyone is commenting on the platform, from problems with the loading of cash on their light meters to the gate that doesn’t close quickly enough to certain people accusing the gardeners who work here on giving inside info to the “suspects”. My phone beeps constantly.

Anyways, so last night the residents mention that patrols should be done. A person from each unit should start patrolling for an hour every night from 12 am to 5 am. With over 60 units you will only patrol once every two weeks. But… What about my Mom and I who are women? Do they honestly think I will be volunteering?  But it was decided that there will be a meeting at 4 pm on Sunday afternoon to discuss this.

However….

Last night I was woken up with voices outside my window. Loud voices. I look out because I don’t recognise the voices.

It turns out that it is my silly neighbours from 22 and two other men…. It is 12:05 at night and remember I mentioned that their front door is by my bedroom window? I was so pissed off, because how inconsiderate can a person be? I got my gown, my hockey stick and I told my Mom I was going out  and out the front door I went…

“Excuse me, has there been a break in?” I asked in a pissed off voice.

“No, we are on patrol,” a voice answered back.

“Well, do you think you guys could keep it down?  I am trying to sleep and you are standing outside my window!”

“Sorry, sorry, sorry,” the voices answered.

I turned around and went back into the house and mumbled that I didn’t need this crap after a hard week. I slammed the door for effect.

They lowered their voices but stood another ten minutes “patrolling”. Also number 22 has those lights that pick up movement which went on all the time while they were chatting. The lights shine into my room but I normally know something is wrong when they go on. Last night it just pissed me off more.

I know I shouldn’t complain, but I think I will go to the meeting and mention that when patrols are being done, the people should patrol and not have conversations in front of people’s windows and scaring them half to death.

So that’s what’s been happening on the complex front…. keep an eye out for the other news of the week.  🙂

Print

7 thoughts on “Things on my side…

  1. Ai sometimes the security patrols are more of an annoyance than anything else.Hope they get a system going that doesn’t disturb the residents.

    • Thanks Deb, they are talking about two way radios, but I think the only way is to get to know your neighbours and keep an eye out for one another. But that’s just my view.

  2. Pingback: Things on my side… (part 2) | Kat and her Blog

Leave a Reply

