Doing something that I thought I would never do

So much has been happening in my life lately. I am always busy with something or other and I cannot seem to just sit still anymore. There is so much to see, experience and to do that I sometimes feel I need an extra day in between Saturday and Sunday.

One of the hobbies/tasks that I have recently begun has been gardening. I mentioned it briefly once before in this post. Who would have thought that I would be enjoying it this much?

Now, I can hear some of you ask why not get a gardener?

Well, we had one; however, he only rocked up to clean the garden when he needed money, not to mention that he planted a dagga plant in the garden. I was so pissed off with that and he still had the audacity to tell us (my mom and I) that we should not get rid of it, because it is medicinal dagga that he smokes for his chest. WTF? Can you just imagine if the cops rocked up to do a search at the house? My mom and I would have been arrested and not the gardener.

It was then that I pulled the plant out of the ground, threw it away and told Biker Man about it because the gardener is scared of Biker Man. Anyways, we are not the only unit the gardener worked at, and we do not know how many other units found the strange plant in their gardens, but after that stupid mistake, I told my mom that I would save the money we pay him and do it myselfโ€ฆ.

Iโ€™ll admit that it has taken some getting used to and it has certainly not been easy. However, I am starting to enjoy it. I put lawn dressing on the lawn earlier this month and it has grown tremendously into a lush green carpet, you could actually hear the grass growing. There is still a small corner that needs one or two pieces of grass because our dog, Lizzie, loves chasing the lizards that live there.

I still plan to start a Zen garden in the other corner with some stones that I bought and I want to buy one or two Bougainvillea to start creeping up against the wall between our garden and the neighbours. Then I would like to get some Lavender for the garden as well.

We added a bird bath feature to the garden as well, which has surprisingly become popular with our feathered friends.

There is still quite a bit to do, but I am hoping that I inherited my Dad and Oumaโ€™s green fingers and that in no time, the garden will look awesome and I will be able to post some photos. ๐Ÿ™‚

Garden Library

9 thoughts on “Doing something that I thought I would never do

  1. Nononono on the Bougenvilla – do you have any idea how deep those roots go ?
    I needed to remove one as it was pushing back a wall in the garden – the hole was as deep as I am tall .. I stopped digging then and just chopped and sadly had to poisen ๐Ÿ˜ฆ …
    why don’t you put star jasmine up – it is pretty and ever green and smells beautiful in full flower

    • Oh crap… so no on the Bougenvilla then… uhm, what other creepers are there? Because we already have Jasmine in the garden and I’m new to all this, as you can see. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • hmmm .. the creeper is just for pretty show? Not to keep unwanted visitors out of the garden?
        You could plant a ramlbing rose – there is one called a ‘Dorothy Rose’ which is bramble like with pretty little florets in either pink or red.
        However – I shall ask my Lessor Spotted (as in Lessor Spotted no longer Teenager Troll – so named when I started blogging as he was much like the rest of his generation – living in his ‘cave’ only to come out when it is dark to forage for food and perhaps go out to commune with the rest of his ilk – communicating as teenager’s are wont to do – in grunts, mono syllables and hand gestures – if of course one is lucky – as he has passed teenagerdom and no longer resides in the same province as me – communication is generally in the form of a sms or if I am lucky a telephone call – the gist of which is generally to request funds of some sort to pay for something that he HAS to have .. but I digress …………..)
        There has to be some up side to his Horticulture qualification ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚ … as soon has he deigns to answer his phone I shall most certainly be giving you an interesting answer. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hahahaha… Your answer made me smile again. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Thanks I look forward to what he has to say… and yes, the creeper is more for a “pretty” effect, because the lady in the townhouse behind us decided to put up an awful steel “wendy house” (without asking permission from the body corporate) which is such an eye sore… so I thought, we could at least try to make it look better.

      Btw, how are those recons coming along? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. ๐Ÿ™‚ it is always good to make someone smile ๐Ÿ™‚

    Well – I have sent him an email – which he may or may not answer depending on his mood – however – it is in his best interest to do so as he needs to collect the licence disk for his vehicle from his aunt before they go away tomorrow – considering my rule is it may be my vehicle, but you do the crime you pay the fine – it is in his best interests to listen to his aged parent and answer her mails
    will let you know what he suggests …

    hmmmm .. gotto love those peoples who seem to think that just because the area is exclusive use, they can do what they like in it …

    the recons
    can you not tell by the verbosity of my responses that I am STILL busy with them ๐Ÿ™‚ ..
    HOWEVER ..
    I am at the end of the long road – I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and one hopes it is not the headlight of an oncoming train

  3. by the way – lavendar – always a win – so very pretty and you get such a variety – they bring the bee’s in though if you are vaguely allergic

    • I am unfortunately allergic to bees… *sigh* Although my room won’t be near the bees. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      My dad had the same rule about me driving his car… and boy oh boy, I’ll never forget the first time I got a speeding ticket. Min you, it is the only speeding ticket I ever got. *touch wood*

      I am so glad to hear they are coming along nicely. I do hope for your sake that it is not a train. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I was saying to a colleague at work this morning, I feel like I should be on holiday already… Maybe because we just finished with the November issue, so my mind is slowly starting to shut down? LOL!

      • Sigh .. you can never win can you – however – my experience is bee’s tend to leave you alone if you leave them alone – they would be far more interested in the pretty smelling lavender than humans – unless of course said human smelled like lavendar ๐Ÿ™‚
        LOL – parents are so alike aren’t they? ๐Ÿ™‚ .. Lessor Spotted got his first fine in my vehicle when he was driving her back to Ctn from Pmb – and yes, he had to pay .. he has yet to get another ๐Ÿ™‚
        I am pleased to report that it wasn’t a train rushing towards me – the recon is done and dusted, however, sadly, there are 5 more waiting not so patiently in line …
        It never ends …………
        I am dreaming of being on leave – December seems so far away … I envy your feeling of holiday mode!
        Have an awesome day
        PS .. no word from the Lessor Spotted yet – I shall continue to chase him ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Hey no worries, let him get back to you on your own time… payday is only next week ๐Ÿ˜‰

        As for the recons, glad they got sorted, although I hope the next five go quickly. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Have a good weekend.

Leave a Reply

