The spice of life…

Once a month, we (my department and I) go to the Inter Continental Hotel at OR Tambo International Airport for our editorial committee meeting. We get picked up by a point-to-point car/combi and travel the approximate 45 kilometers to the airport. The trip normally takes about 35 to 50 minutes (however, I am estimating that as I have never actually timed the trips). Anyways, it is during this time that my colleagues and I have some “getting to know you” time.

We are a team of six people. Five women and one man. We normally chat about all things under the sun, like our things that happened in our families, our partners, movies, work, etc. I normally tell them about things that my nieces do, recent movies I watched, television shows, etc.

Today we were talking about television shows.

See, my colleagues download the most recent series and watch them. I admit, it is a cool thing, however, I like watching it on DSTV. Times have changed and you don’t have to wait months and months before the next season starts to air here in SA.

Today I noted how different everyone’s tastes are… for example:

Now, I don’t watch the other shows, however, I do know the plots and I do know the main characters, so when they talk about them, I know who they are referring to.

As it turns out that our tastes in movies also differ quite a bit. I, for example, hate horror and sci-fi movies, the others love them. The things they watch, I am not interested in and vice versa.

Anyways, so the point of my post is that variety is the spice of life. According to my co-workers, I am the odd one, the crazy one, the loud mouth, the funny one and well… I am obviously just different and I think differently. I dress differently, I like tattoos, I like creating things, I have a ‘special’ way of thinking and I cannot do maths. I am comfortable with me and my life and all I can say it thatΒ can you imagine how boring life would be if we did not have people who have different views or people who liked different things?

I refer you to the quote below, a motto of mine, one that I put up on my BBM status quite often…

Marilyn quote

Enough said. πŸ™‚
Have a happy Wednesday further.

15 thoughts on “The spice of life…

  1. And my favourite series are: Grey’s Anatomy; Brother’s and Sisters; The L Word; Glee … and that’s all I can think of! Most other series I’ve watched have bored me into the second season and these are the few that I’ve watched every episode of every season πŸ™‚

  2. I must admit I enjoy intelligent horror and SF. Unfortunately, there hasn’t been much fitting that description for some decades.
    I am a definite Downton fan, though.

Leave a Reply

