The movie, the Q&A and the end to the evening – Gerard Butler and Aaron Eckhart in South Africa

For previous blog entries, view this  page.
___________________________

Walking towards the cinema, my excitement started building again. So what about the photo? It was fine with me… that could always be my new dream. A girl has to always dream. *big smile*

The steel frames were up and we were walking the route that Gerard Butler and Aaron Eckhart would be walking later the night to meet the fans who weren’t lucky enough to get tickets for the premier. It was 18:35 and no fans had appeared yet. However, I was sure the place would be packed. The photos on Channel24  is proof enough that it was.

When we got to the front of the queue, I gave my name to the lady and my Mom and I received our tickets and black armbands. Later that night we found out that the gold armband people would be going to the VIP lounge to carry on the party, which I was totally fine with. A girl needs her beauty sleep and all that after a long day.

We then joined the queue again and we had an official photo taken of us before the movie. See below. Crystal Brook Distribution arranged it all.

The tickets said row B seats 15 and 16. I did not realise it was the second row from the front, in the middle. Okay, so the screen is massive and during the movie we got to see the pores on the men’s faces, but what counted was AFTER the movie. The stage was right in front of us and it meant that we would have a perfect view of Gerard Butler and Aaron Eckhart when they were answering questions.

The big welcome on the screen when we arrived at the cinema.

The big welcome on the screen when we arrived at the cinema.

Another sign on the big screen.

Another sign on the big screen.

We all got popcorn and drink of choice and we ended up sitting next to two very funny ladies. They loved my shirt and were totally convinced that we (my Mom and I) were the greatest fans there. The one lady did say that if I knew who Gerry’s manager was that I was the ultimate fan, because how many people know that? The ladies were very welcoming and we chatted a lot about the actors.

We were all welcomed by Martin Bester, who interviewed Gerard and Aaron earlier on his radio show and after that the movie then started. Wow! What an action packed movie, of course I will not give too much away, but it might just be one of my new favourites. The jets and the effects were awesome. The men were yummy and well, and yes, I might be biased, but I enjoyed it. My mom did as well and we are still talking about it. We will definitely be going to see it again after payday.

After the movie, Martin Bester was trying to get the audience worked up because we were waiting for the actors to get there. The media took up their places and then Martin Bester  saw my shirt and made me stand up in front of the whole cinema (a few pics were taken, but I don’t know by who).  It was a pity that Gerard and Aaron weren’t there for that.

And then the men walked in. The cinema erupted in screams and applause and I was one of the people who clapped my hands and shouted. It was truly an epic moment to have them so close and yet so far.

The boys getting the microphones on.

The boys getting the microphones on.

Aaron scouting the crowd

Aaron scouting the crowd

Gerry listening to the interviewer

Gerry listening to the interviewer

Listening to a question

Listening to a question

Try to caption this photo.

Try to caption this photo.

Gerry explaining something and Aaron looking at him.

Gerry explaining something and Aaron looking at him.

Aaron Eckhart

Aaron Eckhart

The boys finished with their interview.

The boys finished with their interview.

Gerry telling us that the fan event was Aaron Eckhart's last promotion for Olympus has Fallen.

Gerry telling us that the fan event was Aaron Eckhart’s last promotion for Olympus has Fallen.

Aaron listening to Gerry make the announcement.

Aaron listening to Gerry make the announcement.

Getting ready to leave the stage.

Getting ready to leave the stage.

Aaron leaving the cinema, surrounded by body guards.

Aaron leaving the cinema, surrounded by body guards.

It was then that the audience got to ask questions and an acquaintance of mine, Aldridge was lucky enough to get to ask Gerard a question. It was truly awesome seeing how the men interacted with the audience. One lady from the audience was lucky enough to get a hug from Aaron and then Gerard gave her one too. While the one was talking the other was scouting the audience and vice versa. It was really one of the best experiences in my WHOLE life.

Gerry announced that it had been Aaron’s last tour promoting Olympus has Fallen. He also said that he was on his way to Mexico to promote the movie there. After the Q&A Gerry and Aaron left the cinema and everyone started leaving. The night had come to an end and we still had a trip to make back to Pretoria. I can tell you that I was on cloud 9 and I have been back there every time I think about it.

Oh and remember I mentioned my mom’s friends that she made at the coffee shop? Well on our way out, the lady saw my Mom and hugged her. She said that my Mom was one in a million. ‘To be with your daughter every step of the way and support her way you do is priceless,’ she said. My Mom felt so special, and yes, I know, my Mom is one in a million, and this is where I just want to say, thanks for going with me and being by my side Mom. I’ll never forget this. *Big smile*

And that was the end to a most awesome day. My Mom and I drove home that night and walked in the front door at 23:15. We were both tired. We were on a high. Laying in the dark I went over the day in my mind. The experience was so surreal. However, with all the excitement I could not fall asleep. I could/can honestly say that my dream came true, and how many people get to say that?

When I did eventually drift off to sleep at about 02:00…  I know it was with a smile on my face.

4 thoughts on “The movie, the Q&A and the end to the evening – Gerard Butler and Aaron Eckhart in South Africa

  1. A fabulous experience, and you have described it so well. Super that your Mom provided such support and companionship. What a moment, to have become part of the show with your top!

Leave a Reply

