Some exciting news – Gerard Butler and Aaron Eckhart will be visiting South Africa

My dear people of blogland….

Yesterday I got the most exciting news from a radio station here in South Africa, namely Jacaranda 94.2. The news is that Gerard Butler and Aaron Eckhart will be in South Africa promoting their new movie Olympus has Fallen .

olympus_has_fallen

Now, these of you that know me VERY well, will know that I am a HUGE Gerard Butler fan. I have all his movies and liked him before he even hit ‘stardom’. I like him so much, I even had a t-shirt made…

I have all his movies… I have a calender with his photos… I am just a fan.

You might think I am silly, but Gerry helped me and my mom in a way. See years ago, in 2004 to be exact, my Mom was diagnosed with breast cancer. You can read the blog entry here: Why I support Breast Cancer Awareness (This was when I still blogged under the name of Scarlet). It was just after her operations, that we saw that Phantom of the Opera was showing. My Mom and I went to watch it, and we fell in love with the movie. Both of us liked the Phantom better than Raoul, and agreed, that even if the Phantom was deformed he had a beautiful soul. I think in hindsight, that we felt that way because at that time we were both working through the shock of it all, especially my Mom. Anyways, we went to watch it six times, and when my Mom told her counsellor, her counsellor said that it was not a crazy thing to do, it was the way we were healing ourselves.

It was after that movie that I Googled Gerard Butler and realised that I had seen him in other movies. In each movie he played a completely different role and that is why I did not recognise him. It was there that I started collecting his movies and he became my favourite, favourite actor. I found the officially unofficial site: www.gerardbutler.net and joined the fan forum. All his fans there are known as ‘tarts’ and I became one of them. I met other SA friends there, who I am in regular contact with on Facebook.

The radio station is running a competition where you could be in studio with these two men… and I am planning on entering… the draw takes place on Monday, 8 April (which was/is my dad’s birthday) and you get to meet them on Tuesday.

Please hold thumbs for me… I soooo badly want to just get a glimpse of him!

So there you have it…  That’s my Gerard Butler Story, I hope it gives you a glimpse of why I like him as an actor.

Have an awesome Thursday!
Kat
xxx

PS: To see some of the movies he has acted in, go to this post: Fantasy Friday – Gerard Butler

8 thoughts on “Some exciting news – Gerard Butler and Aaron Eckhart will be visiting South Africa

  1. Pingback: The good news – part 1 | Kat and her Blog

  2. Pingback: The good news – part 1 |

  3. Pingback: Gerard Butler and Aaron Eckhart in South Africa – My experience – Part 1 | Kat and her Blog

  4. Pingback: What to wear and other happenings | Kat and her Blog

  5. Pingback: What to wear and other happenings |

  6. Pingback: Day two: Fourteen movies you could watch over and over | Kat and her Blog

Leave a Reply

