Today is the 11th Anniversary of the 9/11 attacks.

Yes, another year is past and today is the 11th Anniversary of the 9/11 attacks. So much has happened in those 11 years, good and bad, happy and sad.

I thought I’d share a post that I posted last year on 11 September. Where I was when I heard the news. (You can read the original post here) but I thought I’d copy and paste it here too.

I normally don’t blog over weekends, however, I’m supposed to be working now, but while I’m working, or blogging, CNN is on in the background. Today is the tenth anniversary of 9/11.

There has been a moment of silence for the first plane and the next will be in a few minutes. There will be 6 during the course of the day. At the moment the names are being read of those who innocently died in the attack. Moms, dads, cousins, uncles, sons, daughters, etc. I hear the names being read and I look at the names running at the bottom of the screen and I feel sad for the families who lost loved ones. It was a tragedy, one that won’t be easily forgotten. I know this isn’t the first tragedy to hit the world, but I still feel a little sad.

I’m sitting here remembering that fateful day. I was studying for my prelims. I was 17 years old. I heard on the radio that something had happened, it was on 5FM. I remember running to the TV and CNN was on. I called my mom to tell her and I called my dad. I went back to the couch and sat watching. I remember thinking to myself, this is history in the making. I’m sure you remember where you were?

I thought I’d share.

3 thoughts on “Today is the 11th Anniversary of the 9/11 attacks.

  1. It is a day, also, to reflect upon how totally evil are those who manage to dupe people into believing that acts such as that one can ever be justified, much less be praiseworthy. All fanatics putting forward fundamentalist beliefs which lead to such atrocities need to be stamped out as one would a virus.

  2. Pingback: Random thoughts… | Kat and her Blog

Leave a Reply

