Tuesday Thoughts

So this morning, as usual I was on my way to work. As I went over the one bridge the train went through it underneath me. My Mom said to make a wish. Then we went under the Gautrain Bridge at John Voster and the Gautrain went over. Now I want to know, does that count too? The Gautrain is a train after all… only faster.

But that got me thinking about superstitions or old wives tales. My Grandfather came from Ireland and obviously taught my mom certain beliefs like:

  • Never walk under a ladder.
  • Beware a black cat running over your path.
  • When spilling salt, throw some over your left shoulder.
  • Beware for Friday the thirteenth (I am weary about this one).

My Mom obviously mentions them and I’ve learnt about them. Now, I know that most superstitions are derived from folklore. For example, when sneezing, people used to say ‘bless you’ as they believed you were getting rid of evil spirits in you. I must then be a very good person because I only sneeze when I’m sick.

But then I found some more interesting ones online, which I thought I’d share.

  • To predict the sex of a baby: Suspend a wedding band held by a piece of thread over the palm of the pregnant girl. If the ring swings in an oval or circular motion the baby will be a girl. If the ring swings in a straight line the baby will be a boy. (Personally, I don’t think this works)
  • Bells: When a bell rings, a new angel has received his wings.
  • Cows: Cows lifting their tails is a sure sign that rain is coming.
  • Frog: A frog brings good luck to the house it enters.
  • Hair: Pulling out a gray or white hair will cause ten more to grow in its place.
  • Itch: If your nose itches you will soon be kissed by a fool.
  • Rosemary: Rosemary planted by the doorstep will keep witches away.
  • Sparrows: Sparrows carry the souls of the dead; it’s unlucky to kill one.
  • Tongue: If you bite your tongue while eating, it is because you have recently told a lie.
  • Valentines Day: If a woman sees a robin flying overhead on Valentine’s Day, it means she will marry a sailor. If she sees a sparrow, she will marry a poor man and be very happy. If she sees a goldfinch, she will marry a millionaire. (Whahahahaaha, no comment!)
  • Yawning: Cover your mouth when you yawn, or your soul can go out of your body along with the yawn

These are only a few, if you Google superstitions, you’ll find many, many more.

And on that note:

Have a great day!
Scarlet.


Leave a Reply

