Day One

DAY ONE:

TEN THINGS YOU WANT TO SAY TO TEN DIFFERENT PEOPLE RIGHT NOW.

To VDG: Thanks to the experiences I had with you, I have finally realised that I’m not the one with the problem. You are. I would appreciate it if you don’t contact me again.

To NN: My friend, when you told me your news a few months ago, I was so shocked. I know you are going through hell with the Chemo, but know I’m so proud that you are fighting. You are truly an inspiration.

To my bff: I miss you. You are so far away and I know we don’t talk enough. You have started applying for permanent residence and I take my hat off to you for that because you are all alone in a strange country and you have survived! I’m so proud.

To my ex-boss: Dude, you still rock! And I miss you. When I go to the office, it’s not the same without you. I appreciate all your witty remarks on Facebook. Still can’t believe you are spending you b-day in Paris. Its one of your dreams coming true. Totally awesome.

To my favourite lecturer: You once said with a little hard work I’ll go a long way. I appreciate all your advice and faith in me, and yes, one day I will finish my masters.

To me: Remember the Levi’s advert:

Your life is your life.
Don’t let it be clubbed into dank submission.
Be on the watch.
There are ways out.
There is light somewhere.
It may not be much light but it beats the darkness.
Be on the watch.
The gods will offer you chances.
Know them. Take them.
You can’t beat death but you can beat death in life, sometimes.
And the more often you learn to do it, the more light there will be.
Your life is your life.
Know it while you have it.
You are marvelous; the gods wait to delight in you.
Go forth. 

To my brother – Rugby Man: I know you are going through hell right now. But you have been hurt long enough, remember verbal and mental abuse is as bad a physical abuse. It is time to move on. Don’t feel like you are neglecting her. She made her choice when she left you. I am always here for you; remember that even though I’m the young one, I’m always willing to bail you out.

To my brother – Biker Man: FINALLY! You’ve realised I’m not 12 years old anymore. Thank you for actually acknowledging me when I talk to you. I’m so glad that baby K was born, she has changed you and for the better too, you’ve become more understanding and I appreciate the recent family times we’ve had.

To my Mom: Thank you for always being there. You are my best friend and I appreciate your advice and love.

And the last, but not the least…

To my Dad: I’m sorry I never got to say goodbye to you the day before you passed away. That afternoon, after we visited you, you were asleep because you were so tired from all the visitors visiting you. I didn’t want to wake you. So I told mom it’s okay, I’ll see you again. Unfortunately, that never happened. I want you to know, where ever you are, that I’ll never forget you. Love always.


Leave a Reply

