One down…. one to go

Things have been hectic on my side of late. Well, since last Sunday actually.

My uncle passed away on Sunday and then on Monday we heard that one of my mom’s bosses (who you could say I’ve known since I was about 15) also passed away over the weekend. What a shock!

We had my uncle’s memorial service yesterday and this afternoon is the next one. So, one down and one to go.

Its times like this that you realise how short life really is… and it makes you wonder if you are making the best of your time here.

You know in the movie, PS I love you (yes, it’s a Gerard Butler movie and one of my favourites!) in the beginning of the movie Gerry and Holly have a fight. It’s a funny fight… but the point I want to make is that she tells Gerry that she doesn’t want to make mistakes cause you have to have a plan.

“What if this is it, Gerry? What if this is all there is to our life? You have to have a plan. Why do I have to be the responsible grown up who worries? Why can’t I be the cute, carefree Irish guy who sings all the time?”

Well, as it turns out, you don’t have to have a plan…  As Holly says at the end: “This is my one and only life, And it’s a great and terrible and short and endless thing, and none of us come out of it alive.” 

Yes, we all don’t come out of it alive…  but we are to make the most of it… to love deeply to kiss slowly, to run in the rain (without being electrocuted of course) and to enjoy life to the fullest.

I know it is easier said than done sometimes, but you know… sometimes one has to take up the challenge.

Anyways, have a good weekend.

Take care,
Scarlet.

Leave a Reply

